Lancashire Dealmakers Awards 9/2/2012

10 Feb

Picture by David Lake

I joke that these awards give me that occasion to walk out at Ewood Park to applause, a lifetime’s ambition. But opening with jokes isn’t the best idea. I found that out last night. I had a well written script, good information, detail on the awards and I really know who is who. But I’m no Gyles Brandreth. He can do the jokes to warm everyone up – I bring something else. I suppose it’s what I brought with the script last week to his script at the South East event.

The awards went well, but it wasn’t a rip roaring raucous affair – serious, but warm. It’s highlighted by the above award, The Flat Cap Award – a personality award which always goes down well.

There were 160 at the event. It’s a friendly occasion, lots of friends renewing connections. I ended on a poem, something I was quite pleased with as it gave something of me, my style and my strengths.

Coverage of the awards is here.

And my joke? I told the story of how I was stumped for something to say when I met the Prime Minister – ask me anything he said, so I asked: “What does swan taste like?” I know.

One Response to “Lancashire Dealmakers Awards 9/2/2012”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Young Professionals Awards – 26/4/2012 « Michael Taylor Events - May 11, 2012

    […] between trades and the definitions of corporate finance and chartered surveying. Like I said here, I’m not a professional entertainer like Gyles Brandreth, or a sporting icon like Austin […]

Leave a Reply

