Brian Cox at the University of Manchester – 21/6/2012

28 Jun

ImageOK, so it’s stretching a point to say this was an event I’m closely involved in. I should make that clear from the outset. But I am on the board of the University of Manchester Alumni Association, which is a fine body of graduates from the University who guide a diligent executive team. The centrepiece event of our year is the annual Cockford-Rutherford lecture, which this year was delivered by Professor Brian Cox, the former pop star turned pop scientist. Pictured is my friend Janine Watson, the chair of the Alumni this year, conducting the vote for thanks for Brian.

A blog called Helen’s Guide to the Galaxy has written a review of Brian Cox’s talk, a Scientist in the Media. But this post isn’t about that, it’s more about what the lecture represented.

Follow the link to see Brian Cox delivering the Cockford Rutherford lecture, with a gallery of images, and more.

Last year, when I was wondering where I could take my career, my life, my passion for events, my desire to promote learning and discourse in the North of England, I attended the same lecture when it was given by Nobel prize winning scientist Andrew Geim, who spoke about Graphene. I looked around at the packed lecture hall, aware that another room upstairs was also full of people watching a video of the speech. This was where the passion for ideas and for learning was. People from all over the country flocking back to Manchester to hear a physicist – one of the world’s greatest – but a physicist, talking about the creation of a new material.

I was as convinced then as I am now of a latent and undimmed desire for ideas and knowledge and for events that can feed that desire. That’s why I’m doing what I do now. Think More. Where great minds meet.

Leave a Reply

