ICAEW practice manager’s conference 26/6/2012

2 Jul

It was good to get out of my home patch and see how events are produced in London. My job at this event , organised by the ICAEW (the Institute of Chartered Accountants England and Wales) was to host a panel session at the end of a full day of presentations and pieces of inspiration.

The content of the day was all about driving best practice and customer service for smaller accountancy firms. The presentations ranged from inspiring talks to practical pieces of advice. Also on hand was Toby Perkins MP, Labour’s shadow small business minister, who spoke very well on the legislative agenda. The audience seemed keen, but equally they weren’t rushing to ask questions. Part of my role then was to take that on board for my later session.

By the time my slot at 4pm came up, the conference had been run perfectly to time and with a high level of professionalism by Howard Gross one of the senior figures from the ICAEW.

I had briefed the panellists on my session beforehand, we divided up different areas of expertise and I did some research on what they were all about. But as I didn’t know any of them personally, I was leaving it to chance that they would actually be good on a panel. I needn’t have worried as they were all excellent, and sufficiently different to make it a lively debate. Credit for that has to go to a very thorough events producer called Jo Ross, who I enjoyed working with.

A great organistion, a terrific set up and hopefully the session was fun, lively and brought together the issues from the day. There are differences to how people approach events in London, the audience are less likely to know one another, but for me it was a good exercise in working with an unfamiliar crowd and panel and encouraging participation.

Leave a Reply

